Welcome to the Members Section

Here you'll find information about the people who make up Virginia Mock Trial, including current competitors, coaches and advisors, and program alumni. Tryouts are held at the beginning of the school year each fall. If you're interested in becoming a member of our program, please visit the Join page.

Executive Board


Dan Peale

Executive Vice-President

Raahema Durrani

Vice-President of Administration

Kevin Baker


James Orr

Tournament Director

Indiyah Mabry

Current Members
Kevin Baker
Akash Bhat
Mithra Dhinakaran
Nicolos DiMaggio
Raahema Durrani
Booker Johnson
Chloe Konson
Albert Kwon
Paola Linares
Indiyah Mabry
Isabelle Mayor-Mora
James Orr
Dan Peale
Olivia Sahid
Hannah Saiontz
Ryan Smith
Sneha Suresh
Coaches and Advisors
Marcy Coburn
Benjamin Constine
Nick Crown
Haley Etchison
Ryan Faulconer
Liam Fineman
Alex Harasty
Natalia Heguaburo
Toby Heytens
Megan Keenan
Ryan Leonard
Tanner Pruitt
Amanda Swanson
Reedy Swanson
All-American Alumni
Mostafa Abdelkarim
Mackenzie Austin
Samantha Bateman
Laura Bower
Alex Boyajian
Lily Brock
Ryann Burke
Will Cadigan
Ellen Chapin
Michelle Chmielewski
DeAnza Cook
Sabrina Grandhi
Shray Gupta
Sean Hamidi
Darby Hobbs
Steven Kanjo
Rakesh Kilaru
Maximillian Kirby
Cary Mayberger
Liam McCabe
Brian Mink
Lauren Park
Lucy Partain
Alexandria Piacenti
Frankie Piacenti
Mike Romano
Benjamin Sachs
Ben Schlichting
Casey Schmidt
Rohan Sebastian
Greg Siegel
Deniz Tunceli
Katie Villany
Jamar Walker
Ben Wallace
Paul Wiley
Daniel Young
Program Alumni
Mary Kathryn Atkinson
Steven Blau
Alison Burton
Lauren Charneski
David Cross
Meredith Davis
Chas DeVeas
Anya Havriliak
Megan ODonnell
Cody Reeves
Rich Ressler
Kevin Richards
Daniel Shapiro
Thuan Tran
Juliana Yee
Former Competitors
Merriam Abboud
Shivin Agarwal
Elizabeth Ashton Alexander
Bailey Bloxsome
Jonathan Bryan
Jess Bryantsev
Maeve Fidler
Benjamin Fornshill
Eric Green
Shikha Gupta
Margaret Grace Haltom
Carly Hudson
Claire Hungar
Eashan Kaw
Kaz Komolafe
Taylor Krystkowiak
Emily Laser
Brennan Lee
Neah Lekan
Caroline Osborn
Savannah Page
Sonia Patel
Alessia Randazzo
Amy Rodgers
Jalen Ross
Claire Ryder
Deniz Sezer
Deeva Shah
Varun Sharma
Trey Smith
Richard Wang
Claire Wasserman
Ryan Faulconer
Hometown:Colorado Springs, CO
Occupation:Federal Prosecutor

Ryan, currently an Assistant Coach, is an Assistant U.S. Attorney in the Financial Crimes and Public Corruption Unit of the U.S. Attorney's Office for the Eastern District of Virginia. (Or more clearly, a federal fraud prosecutor in Alexandria, Virginia.)

From 2009-2012, he was a Trial Attorney with the Fraud Section in the Criminal Division at the U.S. Department of Justice, where he prosecuted mostly government contracting, warzone procurement, and mortgage fraud cases.

Prior to joining the Department of Justice through the Attorney General's Honors Program, Ryan clerked for the Hon. T. S. Ellis, III, U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District of Virginia, in Alexandria, VA.

Ryan, who served as Virginia Mock Trial's Head Coach from 2005 to 2008, is a 2008 UVa Law graduate. He came to UVa Law School after graduating from the University of Kansas. At Kansas, he competed in mock trial for four years, three as the organization's president, winning three All-American Attorney awards in addition to 26 other attorney awards (and one witness award) at invitational tournaments. Ryan helped lead his team to four consecutive National Championship Tournaments, with his greatest team success coming with a tie for second-place in his team's division--that is, until he helped coach UVa to a National Championship in 2006...and then again in 2007, this time with the second team finishing in a Tie for 5th.